Baby Cereal Pancakes

I wanted to try something different for breakfast today, so I whipped up some baby cereal pancakes.  I found the recipe on http://wholesomebabyfood.momtastic.com/ , and it was a huge hit!  Here’s the recipe as found on the website:

1 cup whole wheat flour (this will make a dense pancake; you can use 1 1/2 cups of all purpose flour if you prefer)
1/2 cup uncooked commercial baby barley cereal from the box (or rice commercial baby cereal) 
1/2 cup uncooked commercial baby oatmeal cereal from the box
1 cup formula (or another liquid such as milk) 
1/2 cup mashed banana (or fruit of your choice) 
1 tbsp melted margarine or butter (unsalted type) 
3 egg yolks 
apple juice (about 1/2 cup) or use water if you prefer

Add cinnamon, nutmeg, dash of vanilla or other flavorings if you wish.

Mix all ingredients together and add enough juice to make pancake consistency. Cook on your cook top in a frying pan as you would with “regular” pancakes. Cooking these baby cereal pancakes on a griddle will work better as you will have more control over the temperature and will be better able to keep the temp. at a constant heat. 

**Freezes Well**

I used whole wheat flour, and added a tablespoon of baking powder to fluff the pancakes up a bit more.  I used mashed banana, which I don’t think I’d use again.  I found wetter spots in a couple of the pancakes from where there was a little banana clump.  Next time, I’d either puree the banana first, or swap it for something like blueberries, or maybe some applesauce.  I also used 1 cup of oat baby cereal, as that’s what I had on hand.

My darling little A gobbled up her pancake and asked for a second.  Success!  Moments of enthusiasm about food are few and far between.

Baby Cereal Pancakes

Mmm, pancakes! The fork is still a work in progress. 🙂

Leave a Reply

